Pashupati Kumar Paras has replaced Chirag Paswan as leader of Lok Janshakti Party in Lok Sabha. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla approved the recognition of Mr Paras as the LJP floor leader in the Lok Sabha.
Earlier five of the LJP’s six MPs had met Speaker Om Birla and submitted him a written request for appointing Pashupati Paras, removing Chirag Paswan from the position.
The rebellion was led by Pashupati Paras, Hajipur MP and the younger brother of late LJP founder Ram Vilas Paswan. Four LJP MPs — Chandan Singh, Veena Devi, Mehboob Ali Kaiser and Prince Raj — backed Mr Paras as the leader of the party’s parliamentary board, leaving party national president Chirag Paswan isolated. Mr Paras was then unanimously elected as the LJP Parliamentary leader in Lok Sabha.

EW News Desk