Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeLatest NewsPresident confers Padma awards for year 2021

President confers Padma awards for year 2021

New Delhi, President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday conferred Padma awards for the year 2021 in a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in the presence of Vice President of India, Prime Minister, Union Minister for Home Affairs and other dignitaries.  

President conferred Padam Vibhushan on Dr Belle Monappa Hegde for Medicine, Prof. Braj Basi Lal for Archaeology and Sudarshan Sahoo for Art.

Former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, former Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan and former Gujarat Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel were honoured with Padma Bhushan posthumously.

Former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, retired Civil Servant Nripendra Misra, among others were given the Padma Bhushan.

President presented Padam Shri, to Ustad Gulfam Ahmed for Art, P. Anitha for Sports, Lakhimi Baruah for Social Work, Rajni Bector for Trade and Industry, Chhultim Chhonjor for Social Work. A social activist from Ladakh, Sujit Chatterjee for Literature and Education, Jaibhagwan Goyal for Literature and Education.

Kovind also awarded, Padma Shri to Anshu Jamsenpa for Sports, Dr Chandrakant Mehta for Literature and Education, Sundaram Solomon Pappiah for Literature and Education-Journalism, Chaman Lal Sapru (Posthumous) for Literature and Education, Dr Arjun Singh Shekhawat for Literature and Education, Prof. Ram Yatna Shukla for Literature & Education, K. Y. Venkatesh for Sports.

The list of Padma Shri awardees include social worker Lakhimi Baruah, folk musician Gopiram Bargayan Burabhakat, artist Dulari Devi, musician Bombay Jayashri, and orthopaedic surgeon Dr BKS Sanjay. Former Governor of Goa Mridula Sinha was given the award posthumously.

This year the list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, ten Padma Bhushan, and 102 Padma Shri awards.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also interacted with the awardees at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

On Monday the President had presented Padma Awards for the year 2020. 

One of the highest civilian Awards of the country, Padma Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri in various disciplines and fields of activities including art, social work, public affairs, science, trade, medicine, literature, sports and civil service.

(EW correspondent)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

सुधीर शुक्ला on D.P. Tripathi : The Shakespear of Politics