Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeJharkhandJamshedpur Lok Sabha Seat: A Historic Journey Filled with Intrigue

Jamshedpur Lok Sabha Seat: A Historic Journey Filled with Intrigue

Sanjay Kumar Pandey

Ranchi/Jamshedpur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate has emerged victorious on the Jamshedpur parliamentary seat in the state of Jharkhand for the sixth time. The Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat came into existence in 1957 and is known as the Steel City of Tata Nagar. This parliamentary seat plays a significant role for all castes and communities. According to information, out of a total of 18 Lok Sabha elections held in Jamshedpur, the BJP has won 6 times, while the Congress and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have secured the seat four times each. Other parties like CPI, BLD, and Janata Party have also tasted victory in this region. In the first Lok Sabha elections held in 1957, the Indian National Congress elected M.K. Ghosh as the first MP of Jamshedpur. Former Chief Minister and Central Minister Arjun Munda won from the BJP in Jamshedpur. The BJP has achieved a hat-trick in the Jamshedpur parliamentary constituency (1996, 1998, 1999, and 2009, 2014, and 2019). This time, all political parties are gearing up for the Lok Sabha 2024 elections. The BJP has once again placed its trust in Vidhyut Varan Mahato for the elections here. It is worth noting that the Jamshedpur parliamentary constituency in Jharkhand has been the most important. People of the Steel City evaluate their MPs, which is why significant fluctuations are often seen in election results. In the first Lok Sabha elections of 1957, Congress’ M.K. Ghosh was the first MP. In 1962, CPI’s Udaykar Mishra, in 1967 Congress’ Surendra Chandra Prasad, in 1971 Congress’ Sardar Parwan Singh, in 1977 Bharatiya Lok Dal’s Rudra Pratap Sarangi, in 1989 JMM’s Shailendra Mahato, in 1991 JMM’s Shailendra Mahato, in 1996 BJP’s Nitish Bharadwaj, in 1998 BJP’s Abha Mahato, in 2004 JMM’s Sunil Mahato, in 2009 BJP’s Arjun Munda, and in 2014 and 2019 BJP’s Vidhyut Charan Mahato were the MPs. Amidst changing circumstances in Jharkhand, the BJP has nominated Vidhyut Charan Mahato for the third consecutive time. It remains to be seen which direction the public will take this time. Only time will tell.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

सुधीर शुक्ला on D.P. Tripathi : The Shakespear of Politics