Wednesday, February 28, 2024
HomeStatesEastECI announces byelections to four assembly seats on October 30

ECI announces byelections to four assembly seats on October 30

Kolkata, The Election Commission of India on Tuesday announced byelections to four vacant assembly seats in West Bengal’s Dinhata, Santipur, Khardaha and Gosaba on October 30. Counting will be held on November 2, 2021.

“The Commission has decided to hold these byelections to fill vacancies and has fixed the dates of poll events as per provisions under Section 30 and date of withdrawal under Section 30(c) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, ” an ECI notification. Filing of nominations is between October 1-8 and withdrawal of nomination is on October 16. The date for scrutiny of nominations is on October 11.

The byelection to the Bhawanipur assembly seat is on September 30. West Bengal chief minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee is facing BJPs Priyanka Tibrewal and CPI(M) candidate Srijib Biswas from Bhawanipur.

Besides Bhawanipur, polling will be held in Samshergunj and Jangipur assembly seats in Murshidabad district on September 30. The result will be out on October 3.

(EW Correspondent)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

सुधीर शुक्ला on D.P. Tripathi : The Shakespear of Politics