New Delhi: NIA court sentenced five men to seven years rigorous imprisonment, 12 days after they were convicted of planning to carry out a blast during the Ardh Kumbh, Haridwar in 2016.

Additional Sessions Judge Parveen Singh sentenced the convicts Akhlakur Rehman, Mohd Azeemushan, Mohd Meraj, Mohd Osama and Mohsin Ibrahim Sayyed to seven-year jail and also imposed fines of various amount on each.

They were convicted under Section 120 B (criminal conspiracy) of the IPC, and sections 18 (conspiracy), 20 (punishment for being member of terrorist gang or organisation) of the UAPA, and under sections of the Explosive Substance Act.